China’s Zhang Hong bids for place on IOC Athletes’ Commission


Lausanne, Switzerland, July 10, 2017: The IOC Executive Board today approved the candidatures of six winter sports athletes for the IOC Athletes’ Commission elections, which will be held during the Olympic Winter Games PyeongChang 2018 next February. Nominated by their respective NOCs, the candidates vying for two available positions originate from three continents and represent five different sports.

The candidates are: 

*Astrid Uhrenholdt JACOBSEN (NOR) (skiing/cross-country) 

*Ander MIRAMBELL (ESP) (skeleton) 

*Kikkan RANDALL (USA) (skiing/cross-country) 

*Emma TERHO (FIN) (ice hockey) 

*Zhang Hong (CHN) (skating/speed-skating) 

*Armin ZOEGGELER (ITA) (luge).

Two seats on the Commission will become available in 2018, with current Chair Angela Ruggiero and member Adam Pengilly finishing their terms of office next February. 

All athletes participating in the next Olympic Winter Games in PyeongChang will be eligible to vote for their preferred candidates. After approval by the IOC Session, the two elected Olympians will become IOC Members for an eight-year term.

Chinese speed skater Zhang was born on April 12, 1988 and won a gold medal at the 2014 Winter Olympics in Sochi. She also won gold at the 2014 World Championships and bronze at the 2016 Worlds.

She is a Bachelor of Law, Harbin University of Science and Technology (2008-2012); Master of Sports, Northeast Normal University of China (2012-2015) and PhD Candidate of Physical Training and Education, Northeast Normal University of China (2016-).

She was also a Promotion Ambassador for Beijing’s successful bid for the 2022 Olympic Winter Games and is an Executive Board Member of the Chinese Olympic Committee.